Researchers Bios



Air-Microfluidics Group (AMFG)

The Air-Microfluidics Group (AMFG) is a research consortium that includes University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC), Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), University of California, Berkeley (UCB), Argonne National Laboratory (ANL), and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Our mission is to conduct research in the use of micro electro mechanical systems (MEMS) technologies, nanofabrication, microfluidics, chemical engineering and material science, for developing miniaturized, inexpensive, and portable/wearable low-cost lab-on-a-chip type devices for ambient air-quality monitoring and gas analysis.

Prof. Igor Paprotny (Group Lead)
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Illinois, Chicago, IL
Affiliate Scientist
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Tel: (312) 996-1924
E-mail:paprotny@uic.edu, IPaprotny@lbl.gov

Dr. Lara Gundel
Staff Scientist
Energy and Environment Technology Division
Indoor Air Quality Group
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Tel: (510) 486-7276
E-mail: lagundel@lbl.gov

Prof. Richard M. White
Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
University of California, Berkeley, CA
Tel: (510) 642-0540

Dr. Paul Solomon
Senior Scientist
Office of Research and Development
National Exposure Research Laboratory
U. S. Environmental Protection Agency
Tel: (702) 798-2280
E-mail: Solomon.Paul@epa.gov

Dr. Thomas Kirchstetter
Staff Scientist
Sustainable Energy Systems Group
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
1 Cyclotron Road MS 70R0108B
Tel: (510) 486-7071
E-mail: TWKirchstetter@lbl.gov

Dr. Ralu Divan
Center for Nanoscale Materials
Argonne National Laboratory
9700 South Cass Avenue, Building 440
Argonne, IL 60439 USA
Tel: (630) 252-0146

Affiliated centers:

Berkeley Sensor and Actuator Center (BSAC)

Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM) at Argonne National Laboratory